Posted in Web Techs

WebTech Post #3 WAMP

Wamp is a Windows OS based program that installs and configures Apache web server, MySQL database server, PHP scripting language, phpMyAdmin (to manage MySQL database’s), and SQLiteManager (to manage SQLite database’s). Wamp is designed to offer an easy way to install Apache, PHP and MySQL package with an easy to use installation program instead of having to install and configure everything yourself. Wamp is so easy because once it is installed it is ready to go. You don’t have to do any additional configuring or tweaking of any configuration files to get it running.

There are usually two reasons why someone chooses to install Wamp . They are looking to install Wamp for development purposes or to run their own server. And I wanted to test out my sites functionality on local level using the localhost config provided by Wamp .

INSTALLING

  • Double click on the downloaded file and just follow the instructions. Everything is automatic. The WampServer package is delivered with the latest releases of Apache, MySQL and PHP.
  • Once WampServer is installed, you can manually add additional Apache, Php or MySql (only V9, V10 and V11 compiled) versions. Explanations will be provided on the forum.
  • Each release of Apache, MySQL and PHP has its own settings and its own files (data for MySQL).

Now that the formalities are over… let me jot down a few things I learnt and made note of  when I experimented with WAMP on my system.

(*σᴗσ)(ㅎᴗㅎ ) |‸눈;)
To start with Wamp after installing it from this link (WampServer is available for free (under GPML license) in two distinct versions : 32 and 64 bits. WampServer 2.5 is not compatible with Windows XP, neither with SP3, nor Windows Server 2003. Older WampServer versions are available on SourceForge…. Some more professional details) click on the icon and wait for a few mins maybe for the first time… I don’t remember actually. But this I remember : It never installed for me.

It took me a week later to figure out exactly what went wrong with the installation (after reinstalling the latest version) somehow the port that Apache uses clashed with already installed software that used the same port 8080. So either I had to uninstall Skype or tweak the config files. Well I didn’t wanna disturb my dad with my stuff so I started tweaking the config files in the Apache folder that was buried deep into the www folder present in the (default) C drive.

After another week (I don’t remember accurately… I think I had my exams?) I was finally able to see a green Wamp icon and managed to successfully launch the local host from my browser. Well, these things have very many problems when trying it out first. Since I never logged my problems I really don’t remember any of them … (How many times have I mentioned the fact that I am forgetful… *sigh)

So moving on…

Using WampServer

  • The “www” directory will be automatically created (usually c:\wamp\www)
  • Create a sub-directory/Folder (hello) in “www” and put your PHP/HTML files inside.
  • Click on the “localhost” link in the WampServer menu.

link to PDF which I referred

(._.) ( l: ) ( .-. ) ( :l ) (._.)

WAMP Server Contains

PHP Admin
Allows you to change or add users and for making new databases phpMyAdmin is a free software tool written in PHP, intended to handle the administration of MySQL over the World Wide Web. phpMyAdmin supports a wide range of operations with MySQL. The most frequently used operations are supported by the user interface (managing databases, tables, fields, relations, indexes, users, permissions, etc), while you still have the ability to directly execute any SQL statement.

Apache
Apache Server deals with Server Side Includes, usually called simply SSI. Some time later, I’ll talk about configuring your server to permit SSI, and introduce some basic SSI techniques for adding dynamic content to your existing HTML pages and about some of the somewhat more advanced things that can be done with SSI, such as conditional statements in your SSI directives.
SQL Server and Database System
SQL Server is a relational database management system  from Microsoft that’s designed for the enterprise environment. SQL Server runs on T-SQL (Transact -SQL), a set of programming extensions from Sybase and Microsoft that add several features to standard SQL, including transaction control, exception and error handling, row processing, and declared variables. Generically, any database management system (DBMS) that can respond to queries from client machines formatted in the SQL language. When capitalized, the term generally refers to either of two database management products from Sybase and Microsoft. Both companies offer client-server DBMS products called SQL Server.
You can use WAMP to develop and test websites locally on their own computer instead of having to get a web hosting account to develop with, just like I did. Most people will be using WAMP for development purposes such as learning how to create websites with HTML, PHP, and MySQL.  

(。≖ˇェˇ≖。)b
I think I am done for the day… I am gonna go back to grooming my Mustache and my exams maybe?
[ ಠ ~_~ ಠ ]
Leave a Reply

