Posted in Rant Alert

Rant Alert #1 ヽ(´∇´)ノ(∇´ノ)ヽ( )ノ(ヽ´∇)ヽ(´∇`)ノ

̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿’̿’\̵͇̿̿\з= ( ▀ ͜͞ʖ▀) =ε/̵͇̿̿/’̿’̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿

Is copying and pasting code dangerous? Should control-c and control-v be treated not as essential programming keyboard shortcuts, but registered weapons?




Some times I end up pondering over this question,Am I really a developer or just a good googler. Thinking over it I am not so sure of the answer anymore. 

。(*^▽^*)ゞ

This is a really profound question that deserved an answer. I’ve felt the same way sometimes when playing a video game. It’ll get hard as I progress through the levels, but not crushingly hard. Each level I squeak by with the online cheat codes, I have found myself asking, “Did I deserve to pass that level? I’m not sure I could do it again.”

If you also felt or are feeling the same way ,well then I would like to share the following! Something that I was told when I discussed this with someone I look up to …

(⁄ ⁄^⁄ᗨ⁄^⁄ ⁄)
(#/ᗨ\#)

  1. First, remember you are not alone. I think that we grow when we are outside our comfort zone. If it’s not breaking you down, it’s not building you up.
  2. Second, anything that you want to be good at is worth practicing. Do Code Katas. Do a Project Euler problem every few weeks, if not weekly.
  3. Third, try programming for a day without Googling. Then two days, maybe a week. See how it feels. Remember that there was a time we programmed without copying our work.
  4. Fourth, think about the problem, deeply. Read about algorithms, read Programming Pearls, read about Design Patterns. Rather than copying code from Stack Overflow, copy patterns from the greats.
  5. Fifth, get involved. Go to Nerd Dinners, meet with others who feel the same way you do about technology. Stretch.You have no idea on the amount of info you get this way.


┬┴┬┴┤(・‿├┬┴┬┴

Leave a Reply

